News:

 

Topic: [Fixed] Inaccurate Pivot Movement  (Read 2173 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 160
  • Spline
    • Portfolio
October 04, 2011, 11:30:56 AM
VoidWorld 2.4 (2011-Oct-01)

Just noticed a legacy bug creep back into the latest release.  Moving an object (at the object level) the object topology will move away from the pivot (or the other way around??)  I made a video to show what I mean as it's more obvious when you use just 1 axis.

This happens whether you use the gizmo or hold down W key and use the streamline tool.

Please note that this only seems to happen at the topmost Object Level. Not at subobject levels.

p.s. Version (2011-Oct-01) shows (2011-Sep-30) on the Title bar of Voidworld
« Last Edit: October 07, 2011, 08:55:33 AM by ghib »
Senior 3D Artist

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3323
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 05, 2011, 08:08:19 AM
ghib: Can you give steps so I can reproduce this on a simple box? I just can't figure out how you did it.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 160
  • Spline
    • Portfolio
October 05, 2011, 08:30:59 AM
my apologies IStonia,  yesterday this was 100% reproducible.  I come in today and it is no longer happening.  :-\

If I can dig out an old save and find the problem I'll send you the vws file again.

Sorry if this has wasted any of your time.

fwiw:  the steps to reproduce.

  • Select object
  • press and hold W
  • RMB
  • move 1 axis
  • at this point the object should start sliding away from the axis that is constrained

As I said, step 5 is no longer happening.. weird.. I don't get it
Senior 3D Artist

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3323
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 05, 2011, 09:17:10 AM
That's ok. I will double check the code when I have time, as it obviously is bug there.

  • Posts: 551
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 05, 2011, 12:23:17 PM
i wanst able to recreate this also olny thign that happened is the expected snapping the the widget back the the center of the screen when the cube went off screen, but that is actually a feature, and the cube was still only moving on 1 axis like it should.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 160
  • Spline
    • Portfolio
October 05, 2011, 02:10:14 PM
cheers for having a look anyway guys..

I wound back to an older saved file and discovered the offending objects.  IStonia I sent you a message with the file.
Senior 3D Artist

  • Posts: 551
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 05, 2011, 02:30:05 PM
was it a complex object, i tested just using the default sphere with subdiv level 2 on it, so a pretty high vert count but not overly complex, and did you have symmetry or any snapping options on?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3323
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 06, 2011, 02:11:23 AM
ghib: I picked the pivot object and tried to move it in the way you suggested. But it just works fine to me.
It is 100% reproducable in you machine with that file? If so, I can create a debug version to track it down.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 160
  • Spline
    • Portfolio
October 06, 2011, 08:40:10 AM
Passerby, the object itself very simple. Just a cube subdivided with creasing on the edges.  But the scene itself is fairly dense.  not huge though.

IStonia.  Yeah it's 100% reproducible for me on my work machine (not tried at home yet) 
Did you just try moving it once, briefly, then release?  The drifting of the object is very gradual so you need to keep the mouse button pressed and just move the mouse around left,right,up,down until you see the movement.  Depending on the axis. 

Anyway. the debug version might help yeah.
Senior 3D Artist

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3323
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 07, 2011, 01:27:50 AM
Found it. There is an unnecessary transformation chain that adds the computation error over time, especially when the object is far away from world origin.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 160
  • Spline
    • Portfolio
October 07, 2011, 08:54:30 AM
Great, well done on tracking it down.  Another bug bites the dust :)
Senior 3D Artist