News:

 

Topic: Edge_Loop_Cut/Slide_Proportional  (Read 587 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Posts: 1696
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
    • http://samardac.com/
September 19, 2014, 05:55:18 AM
Edge_Loop_Cut/Slide_Proportional#

Why when I press CTRL/Shift I can not change slide form proportional to even? What I'm doing wrong? Or it is bug?

Portfolio: www.samardac.com

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2094
  • Polygon
September 20, 2014, 10:50:25 AM
In one of the updates, the "Ctrl/shift" keys where changed. That function is supposed to be bound to "Tools > Modeling options > Even/Proportional slide Toggle key".
But that appears to be broken for the cut + slide streamline tools.

Hopefully, IStonia will take a look, when he can find time.

  • Posts: 454
  • Triangle
October 16, 2017, 09:55:19 AM
Just ran into this bug, like Andrei I could not get the even part to work, the proportional part works.

When I tap the SPACE key it highlights my loop red but I do not understand what the functionality is for ?
In the streamline tools tool tips I cannot see what difference there is between proportional and fixed length tools, they seem to have the same functionality ?

This is a tool I really use a lot and would be great if it could be fixed and improved.

I am finding it really hard to hold the streamline keyboard shortcut down, hold my left mouse button down, scroll with the mouse wheel to adjust the number of cuts and tap  Ctl/Shift all at the same time.

It would be better if the tool worked like blender.
  • Hold your keyboard shortcut key for the Loop Cut/Slide tool
  • Move you mouse over the edge you want to cut through, (a highlight loop cut shows)
  • Scroll the mouse wheel to enter the number of cuts (a highlighted number of loop cuts show)
  • Tap the SPACE key to toggle proportional/even
  • Click LMB to finish.

At the moment the tool works like this which is really awkward to work with.
  • Hold your keyboard shortcut key for the Loop Cut/Slide tool
  • Hold keyboard shortcut and LMB click to insert the loop (up to this point is all good)
  • Hold keyboard shortcut and LMB down while scrolling the mouse wheel to enter the number of cuts (that is hard to do)
  • Hold keyboard shortcut and LMB down while trying to tap the Shift or Ctl key at the same time (which is broken) (this is also really hard to do depending on your keyboard shortcut in relation to the Shift & Ctl key)
  • Release LMB to finish.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2017, 10:17:00 AM by kevjon »

  • Posts: 454
  • Triangle
October 16, 2017, 10:37:20 AM
I just discovered the Loop Insert dialog. That works better so I'll go with that for future work.
The even part in Loop Insert works nicely.

Still discovering new things in Nvils tools and better ways of working all the time !

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3323
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 17, 2017, 12:03:17 PM
The tooltips is outdated. It is "Caps-Lock" key, not Ctrl/Shift.
Once you have mouse button down, you don't have to hold the hotkey anymore.


When I tap the SPACE key it highlights my loop red but I do not understand what the functionality is for ?

There may be cases you want the new edges to be selected for further processing.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3323
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
October 17, 2017, 12:09:46 PM
Edit > Preference > Options 2 > Modeling > Proportional subobject slide.
Edit > Customize > Tools > Modeling Options > Even/Proportional Slide Toggle Key.

  • Posts: 454
  • Triangle
October 18, 2017, 10:01:57 AM
Thanks Istonia,

Those tips are really great, I didn't know those things about streamline tool for inserting edge loops.

Edit > Customize > Tools > Modeling Options > Even/Proportional Slide Toggle Key.
I checked my configuration and it is set to CAPS and all is working well with the tool now that I know this key changes edge loop insertion from proportional to even.

Not having to hold the hotkey for the streamline tool certainly makes it a lot easier to use the tool.