News:

 

Topic: 64-bit Version Test  (Read 12084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 04:52:24 AM
Ok, here is a new built which should work as 32-bit app in 32-bit pcs and as 64-bit app in 64-bit pcs. Please let me know if it works or not. I don't have 64-bit pc to test it.

http://www.digitalfossils.com/Download/NVil-Jan-01-14.rar

Thanks!

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2087
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 05:21:08 AM
On win7 64, it is crashing on startup (faulting module "Kernelbase.dll"). Exception code:- 0xe0434f4d

Update:-

Prerequisites missing for slimDX (nice to see the move away from MDX).

A need to download/install end user runtime(for slimDX):- http://slimdx.org/download.php (the .net 2 download)



« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 05:43:27 AM by steve »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 06:25:12 AM
Does it run after installing SlimDX runtime as 64-bit app?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2087
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 06:52:26 AM
Apart from the 32bit image files it is loading from its directory(the dll's shipped with Nvil), it is loading 64bit image files from system. It appears to be accessing 64bit memory space, a very quick test adding 6 million polygons was OK. So yes.

FYI
I am seeing a longer time for startup (about X2)
When adding some primitives and/or changing between obj/sub-object selection, the main screen flickers. I thought that was due to V-sync, but forcing v-sync on/off (Nvidia) does not change it. (I will swap over to AMD GPU later to check if problem just with Nvidia)

Also, while in obj-mode, "Duplicate" does not work.

« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 06:59:05 AM by steve »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 07:23:27 AM
Can you try run it as 32-bit app and see if its better startup and no screen flickers?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2087
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 07:42:16 AM
On 32bit (win XP pro <- only 32bit system I have, which is for internet)

Startup time is same as previous version (so it is not taking longer)

Still seeing screen flicker(main view).
Also on the 32bit, the HUD is not completely showing (see attached screenshot).
HUD is showing OK on 64bit system. Both have Nvidia GPU)


  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 08:20:09 AM
You possibly can right click the exe icon and run it as 32-bit app in your 64-bit pc and see if the HUD is good. Also can you run the old 32-bit version on your 32-bit pc and see if the HUD is good?

Edit:
 
Still seeing screen flicker(main view).

What do you mean by "main view"? Is it the selected viewport?
« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 08:26:10 AM by IStonia »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2087
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 08:28:51 AM
You possibly can right click the exe icon and run it as 32-bit app in your 64-bit pc and see if the HUD is good.
There is no way I know of right clicking an application and forcing it to run as 64bit or 32bit.

Quote
Also can you run the old 32-bit version on your 32-bit pc and see if the HUD is good?
The HUD for Nvil-DEC-23-13 is OK. I checked that before making last post.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 08:36:29 AM
Do you use different languages for your two pcs? Also I ask for the meaning of "main view" in my previous post.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2087
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 08:45:27 AM
What do you mean by "main view"? Is it the selected viewport?

In all viewports.


---------

Have changed over to AMD GPU, I am seeing the same issue.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 09:22:00 AM by steve »

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 2087
  • Polygon
January 01, 2014, 08:46:36 AM
Do you use different languages for your two pcs?

No, same language on all.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 02, 2014, 01:50:56 AM
Please test this new update
http://www.digitalfossils.com/Download/NVil-Jan-02-14.rar

I haven't done anything about the viewport flicker. Is it very bad? Can you describe in more detail? How long does it last? Does it happen once or more times? What kind of color do you see?

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 15
  • Vertex
January 02, 2014, 08:06:19 AM
Hi IStonia

Tried running the latest update(Jan-02) on my 64 bit Windows 7 system and wouldn't start.  Got a message saying "NVil 1.0 exe has stopped working".

Regards
Mal

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 3316
  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Polygon
January 02, 2014, 08:16:34 AM
Have you installed SlimDX runtime? The information is in the second post.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 40
  • Vertex
January 02, 2014, 09:12:23 AM
I have Win 7 x 64 bit, just upgraded the computer so it is fairly clean :)
I downloaded  this 64 bit version and I also got a message saying "NVil 1.0 exe has stopped working, so I downloaded and installed SlimDX runtime as in IStonia's post and NVil is working..
(just have to learn how to use it a bit better)