News:

 

Topic: rubberDuck's NVil Config  (Read 760 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Posts: 904
  • Polygon
February 02, 2018, 01:57:09 PM
This is a minimalistic configuration best suited for working in full screen (single viewport). Relies mostly on shortcuts and radial menus with an occasional user tool window.

Download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/99ok5wymz44wuxq/ajz-user-settings.7z?dl=1
Cheatsheet: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ybru5s7z7wemt3a/ajz-user-settings-cheatsheet.pdf?dl=1

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 5
  • Vertex
February 03, 2018, 04:37:47 PM
WOW - This is simply stunning - so much work and effort!

Thanks a lot - I wanted to try this config, but I dont know, where to put all these .xml files. I was hoping, NVIL takes just a "1 file" config, that contains all kind of things - but this is not the case.

So, where to put all those xml´s ?

Kind Regards,

Elo

  • Posts: 904
  • Polygon
February 03, 2018, 04:56:43 PM
First, go to:
Code: [Select]
%APPDATA%\DigitalFossils\NVil\User SettingsThen, backup all the files from that directory and replace them with files from the archive.

  • No avatar
  • Posts: 9
  • Vertex
March 04, 2018, 11:52:24 AM
Can you show a screenshot?

  • Posts: 904
  • Polygon
March 04, 2018, 05:58:32 PM

  • Posts: 39
  • Vertex
    • 3ddmd
June 11, 2018, 12:14:02 AM
Beautiful GUI! That was a lot of work for sure. I really appreciate the Silo influence since I have a lot of muscle memory built around their keyboard shortcuts. Perhaps we could implement "Shift + c" keyboard shortcut which Silo calls "Refine Control Mesh". I really need to dig into Nvil more :)

http://nevercenter.com/silo3d/wiki/index.php?title=Refine_Control_Mesh

As an aside, here's where I found the folder to place the .xml files.

This PC > Local Disk(C:) > Users > Gary > AppData > Roaming > DigitalFossils > NVil > User Settings


  • Posts: 904
  • Polygon
June 11, 2018, 11:52:58 AM
Perhaps we could implement "Shift + c" keyboard shortcut which Silo calls "Refine Control Mesh". (...)
http://nevercenter.com/silo3d/wiki/index.php?title=Refine_Control_Mesh
You can easily add this shortcut by yourself. Search for "Collapse Subdivision" in the Edit->Customize->Tools and assign it SHIFT+C key combination.

There will be a warning message telling you that this hotkey collides with Connect Edges custom StreamLine tool, so you will need to either remove that shortcut in Edit->Customize->StreamLine Tools->My Tools->Connect Edges, or reassign it. I'll probably delete that custom streamline tool from the config because I don't even remember when was the last time I used it. Additionaly, Cut (bound to "X") does more-or-less the same thing.